The Dirty 30 Is Here!!

Posted on

img_dirtythirty

ITS MY BIRTHDAY!! Dirty 30 is FINALLY HERE!! Ahhh it feels good.

I’m thankful to wake up to another day and another year on this earth. Life hasn’t always been sunshine and roses, but all the obstacles, pains, and challenges led to triumphs and growth. I thank God for showing me how to take the good with the bad, and happy with the sad, knowing all things were for my good in the end. I thank the Lord for the wisdom my experiences have taught me. Thirty marks the start of a new decade that I am ready and happy to conquer.

As I said yesterday, 30 is a special birthday – it’s the “really grown up” age. And I made it!!! There’s so much that I’ve accomplished in this time, so many things I’ve experienced (good, bad and ugly). My high school self would have never predicted where I would be and the kind of person I would be at 30. I’m pleasantly surprised at the 30 year old me that exists as I do now. I think I’ve done a damn good job up to this point. And though I don’t always acknowledge it (to myself or others), I am proud of myself for who I am and what I’ve accomplished.

I am super thankful to be home, with my family on this day. Moms came through and helped me buy a last minute ticket to Cali. My brother and nephews also happened to be here. I had planned to spend my birthday in Portland, alone, pampering myself and preparing for my upcoming trip to DC. But there was something better in store for me. Though this trip is uber short (less than 48hrs), I get to spend it with some of the people I love most in this world (including my bestie, her wife, and their son, my godson). And in another 2 days, I’ll be with the love of my life, celebrating even more. Yep, I’m winning at 30 already!!

Dirty-30

Thanks to everyone who’s been following my #30forDirty30 posts. Thank you for reading, thank you for commenting, thank you for sharing with others. I appreciate all the feedback I’ve gotten and honestly, I feel really good about myself and some of the posts I’ve been able to crank out. I like to think that I’m a good writer, but these past few weeks have renewed my confidence in myself and it’s all thanks to those of you who have been reading and giving me feedback. Thank you thank you thank you! I have a few more posts to complete before the “challenge” is over, but I had to gives thanks before the end.

Again I’ll say FELIZ CUMPLEANOS to me!!! I hope everyone enjoys my day :)

 

With maturity and wisdom (and still full of youth),
~Gem the 30yo

6 thoughts on “The Dirty 30 Is Here!!

    Wu Young, Agent of M.E. said:
    July 7, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Happy Birthday, Gem.

      gemmieboo responded:
      July 19, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      thanks!!! (all late i know lol)

    Hawaii said:
    July 8, 2013 at 12:33 am

    Birthday girl, Welcome to the 30s!
    Hope that you have a blessed year with many more to come and I really enjoyed reading your #30forDirty30 post. :)

    —Hawaii

      gemmieboo responded:
      July 19, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      thanks so much!!! 30 feels awesome. its the rest of the BS going on in this world that is getting me down smh

    madscientist7 said:
    July 8, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    happy birthday to you! happy birthday to you! happpppyyyy birthday!!!!

      gemmieboo responded:
      July 19, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      thanks so much sir :)

Leave a Reply

