Rocking the Red Pump


fm;flf,l;ef,

I LOVE the color RED! And I LOVE a nice pair of pumps.

Put the two together and what do you have? A stylish way to raise awareness about the impact of HIV/AIDS on women and girls.  The Red Pump Project uses the red shoe as a symbol of empowerment to represent the strength and courage of women and girls infected and affected by HIV/AIDS.

 

my ruby slippers :)

This is my first year rocking the red pump and joining the RTRP Campaign, in an effort to join with people all over the blogosphere by dedicating a post to this very important issue. What I find particularly jarring, is HIV/AIDS disproportionately affects minority women in the United States and is the leading cause of death for 25-34yo Black women!! Damn.

I could easily be one of these women infected and affected by HIV. As educated as I am, and as cautious as I am when it comes to sexuality, I haven’t always made the wisest and safest choices when its comes to sex. A few times, I trusted the men in my life with my life, having faith that they were as safe and clean as they claimed to be. And by the grace of God, I remain completely intact, infection (of any kind) free. But I don’t take this for granted. I don’t want to let my fate, my health, my life to be in the hands of some one else.

I encourage EVERYONE who is sexually active to GET TESTED, regularly and practice safe sex!! I know many women (including myself at one point) can feel self conscious about buying condoms or having condoms on hand. But what does “image” matter when your health is at stake? At some point we have to put on our big girl panties and handle our business. We are worth it!!

Cheers to all the women and girls living with HIV/AIDS. May they get the care and support they need to make it through. Big up to those doing HIV/AIDS research, improving treatment options for those infected. And God bless those who promote HIV/AIDS education and prevention.

I wish you all a happy and wonderful weekend! Tomorrow is National Women and Girls HIV/AIDS Awareness Day. I suggest my ladies go out and buy a bunch of condoms and get to practicing that safe sex with your man. Hey, the GOP thinks we’re out chea just f*cking all day on birth control anyway, why not live up to the hype?? ;-)

Proudly rocking my red pumps,
Gemmie Choo

, ,

  1. #1 by Wu Young, Agent of M.E. on March 9, 2012 - 11:20 am

    Props for promoting awareness.

    “Hey, the GOP thinks we’re out chea just f*cking all day on birth control anyway, why not live up to the hype??”

    Damn shame… Bunch of closed-minded a**hats.

    • #2 by gemmieboo on March 9, 2012 - 11:36 am

      damn shame indeed smh.

      im not on birth control so i guess if i were out all day every day f*cking, i wouldnt be a slut whore bag right??? or no? hmmm its so complicated!

      • #3 by Wu Young, Agent of M.E. on March 9, 2012 - 11:59 am

        Using their logic people who own a lot of guns (like them) would go around using them all of the time wouldn’t they?

        Most of the women I know on birth control do it to regulate harsh cycles.

      • #4 by gemmieboo on March 10, 2012 - 12:41 am

        no, Wu, they dont. they take birth control so they can get their f*ck on. cmon son, EVERYBODY knows that smh #yougonlearntoday

  2. #5 by NicknotNikki on March 10, 2012 - 12:35 am

    Aww Gem.. Thank you for being extremely honest in this post.. I make no qualms about getting tested today.. Matter of fact, I’m excited.. I too, have trusted another person with my well being.. Considering I’m a control freak, I can’t believe I even let that slide..
    I had NO idea it was the leading cause of death for black women in my age range.. That actually makes me sad, considering HIV/AIDS is something that all of us have control over. Thank you for raising awareness…

    • #6 by gemmieboo on March 10, 2012 - 12:42 am

      you and me are >>HERE<< on the control freak thing. i cant believe i ever even went there. it happens. and hopefully we make better choices the next time. i appreciate all my learning experiences and my growth.

      thanks for sharing love :)

  3. #7 by s0flyy on April 2, 2012 - 8:38 am

    6 years late but it’s okay… I’mma comment anyway. LOL.

    I just wanted to say that you are genius w/ your sign offs. Gem Jones. Gemmie Choo. hahahhaha… where does it end?

    Oh, and good post :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 884 other followers

